Change at the top of The Cricket Club

At the Club’s AGM on Friday 10th February, Angus Lachlan announced that that he was standing down as Club Chairman for 2017, and the meeting unanimously elected Matt Swain to succeed him. Angus is replacing Matt as Vice-Chairman.

Angus said: “I have been privileged to hold the position of Chairman for 10 years, succeeding Acting Chairman Rob Brooks following the untimely death of previous Chairman John Fulkes in 2004.

I have enjoyed my time immensely as the Club has gone through huge changes in the last 10 years. We have grown the membership and Club’s finances year on year, culminating in the planning of our new Clubhouse development which Matt, myself and the rest of the Committee are taking forward.”

New Chairman Matt Swain confirmed that a tender package for the Clubhouse development would be ready in April saying, “This is a magnificent opportunity for a supplier to help build this major local community facility.”

On the day to day club matters Matt said: “We are lucky to have a stable and dedicated Club Committee to run our expanding activities. So that we do not lose sight of our core cricket activities I have created the role of Director of Cricket. This position will be responsible for delivering our cricket development priorities and plan for 2017 – 2020. I am delighted that Mike Higgs has taken on this role and stays close to helping us continue to develop the club. Mike joined TTCC in the U7’s and during his time as a youth player captained the U11, U13, U15 and U17’s teams. He played through the 3rd and 2nd XIs and made his debut in the 1st XI at the age of 15 in 2004 v Tring. Since then he has captained the 1st XI in 2012, 2013, 2015 & 2016 with an unbeatable season in Div 1 of the Cherwell league in 2015 to be promoted to the HCPL in 2016. Which clearly demonstrates the successful player pathway we have. Mike is a great cricketer, clubman and not short of an opinion or two! I am looking forward to his continued passion and enthusiasm to help the club progress at an accelerated rate.”

“I am also delighted to welcome Joe Phippen to the committee. Joe has been instrumental in the development of our website which in the last 12 months has been completely overhauled and received over 8,000 visits. In addition to website responsibilities Joe will take on the role of Fixture Secretary. Coming from a family of athletes Joe is another great cricketer and clubman and I am looking forward to his further involvement in driving the club forward and I thank him for stepping up to the mark to help out the running of the club”

My priorities as Chairman will be to continue to grow club membership and develop our close relationships with Thame’s community, the Town Council, Lord Williams’ School and the town’s primary schools. We have some new and exciting developments on their way at Thame Town CC this season and we look forward to welcoming everyone to the club at Church Meadow very soon”

Matt gave a detailed presentation to the meeting of the new Clubhouse project, and confirmed that the Club’s very successful ‘Buy A Brick’ scheme will run through 2017.

Matt Swain

Matt Swain, Chairman

Angus Lachlan

Angus Lachlan, Vice-Chairman


Mike Higgs, Director of Cricket


Joe Phippen, Website Co-ordinator and Fixture Secretary

For further information on this and the new building, please contact or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *