Awards Night 2019

On Friday 20th September, members of the club gathered for the first Awards Night in the new clubhouse, to celebrate the many achievements of the club’s teams and players in 2019.

We would like to sincerely thank Tracy & Dave Hunt of Aspen Financial Advice Ltd for sponsoring the awards. We would also like to thank Ruby’s Street Food and Richard Walker for the excellent food. And thank you, as always, to our volunteers on the night who ran the bar and made sure the evening ran smoothly.

Chairman, Matt Swain, had this message; “As the season draws to a close we would like to thank all of our supporters and sponsors for getting behind the club this season which has turned out to be another history making year.

Amongst the highlights were our Women’s team entering into the Home Counties Women’s League for the first time, we also hosted a minor Counties match between Oxfordshire and Cheshire for the first time in over 20 years. And the 1st XI were crowned champions of HCPCL Div 2.

The new clubhouse has been put to the test by a +20% growth in playing membership and a dozen or so new groups, businesses and organisations using the facility as well as private parties and events.

We are now working on plans to further enhance the ground and playing surface over the next 1-3 years to be able to cater for increased capacity for practice and matches and potentially hosting a first class County match.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon”

This season also saw our 3rd XI win Cherwell League Division 8 and the club win the Wilf Bennett T20 Cup.

The awards were as follows:

1st XI Bowling – Faisal Ali

Presented by 1st XI Captain, Mike Beard

1st XI Batting – Ollie Ebsworth-Burland

Not present

2nd XI Bowling – Dan Patey

Presented by Ollie Sutcliffe

2nd XI Batting – Richard Carr

Presented by Ollie Sutcliffe

3rd XI Bowling – Nick Humphries

Presented by 3rd XI Captain, Vim Desai

3rd XI Batting – Guy Holmes

Presented by Vim Desai

4th XI Bowling – Trevor Spindler

Not present

4th XI Batting – Charlie Anderson

Presented by 4th XI Captain, Ed Mather

Women’s Bowling – Megs Woodward

Women’s Batting – Sarah Sanderson

Not present

Women’s Most Improved Player – Katherine Medhurst

The John Fulkes Award – Chris Jeffcock

Presented by Ian McStay

Club Champion 2019 – Mags Lightbody

For all her fundraising efforts

Presented by Chairman, Matt Swain

Special Award – Ian McStay

For taking his 500th Cherwell League wicket during the 2019 season

Presented by Richard Carr

Thank you to John Phippen, Sally Patey, Matt Swain, Jackie Phippen and Sheena Beard for making the evening a success

Here’s to next season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *