Awards Night 2018

On Friday 7th September, members of the club gathered for the very last time in the clubhouse that was built back in the late 70s, to celebrate the many achievements of the club’s teams and players in 2018.

We would like to sincerely thank Tracy & Dave Hunt of Aspen Financial Advice Ltd for sponsoring the new awards, for both the Women and the 4th teams, over the next 3 years. Thank you also, as always, to our volunteers on the night who ran the bar and provided the food.

The Chairman, Matt Swain, summed up the season well:

The Cricket season has flashed by and on the whole we have enjoyed great success again this year. Unfortunately for the 1st XI, Division 1 of the Home Counties Premier League (HCPL) was a step too far and we suffered relegation to Division 2, but the team will still be competing in this premier club league during 2019.

However, the 2nd and 3rd XI both secured promotion in the Cherwell League, to Division 3 and 8 respectively. Our 4th XI, in its very first year of existence, finished an incredible 5th place in Division 10 which was a fantastic start for them and one we never imagined would be possible just 12 months ago.

Our Women’s team competed for the first time in the Thames Valley League and also surpassed expectations, beating Cookham Dean twice and completing over a dozen fixtures throughout the season, not to mention staging Thame’s own softball tournament in mid-August.

The club has grown from having just 121 playing members in 2014 to 250 in 2018; this growth has been driven by both junior and adult sections and we expect that trend to continue.

The awards were as follows:

Women’s Most Improved Player – Claire Morris

presented by Women’s Captain, Bridget Cooper

Women’s Best Batting – Beth John
Women’s Best Bowling – Sarah Sanderson

Neither present

4th XI Best Bowling – Ed Mather

presented by Director of Cricket, Mike Higgs

4th XI Best Batting – Tim Dabbs

Not present

3rd XI Best Bowling – Ian McStay

presented by 3rd XI Captain, Vim Desai

3rd XI Best Batting – Andy Jinman

presented by Vim Desai

2nd XI Best Bowling – Dan Patey

presented by Mike Higgs

2nd XI Best Batting – Matt Furness

Not present

1st XI Best Bowling – Hassam Mushtaq

Not present

1st XI Best Batting – Mike Beard

presented by Mike Higgs

The John Fulkes Award – James McStay

presented by Mike Higgs

Club Champion 2018 – Alistair Thomas

for his tireless work in bringing the plans for the new clubhouse to fruition

Not present

Special Award – Robbie Jackson

for representing all 4 Men’s teams within the season, often being called to change teams last minute

presented by Mike Higgs

Last, but not least, the official club tie was awarded to young players who have made the breakthrough into adult cricket from the youth system, this year – 3 in the photo, plus Max Muncaster and James Carr (not present).

Drew Murray, Martin Wiles & Luke Hayes

presented by Mike Higgs

Here’s to next season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *