Adults’ Awards 2023

The 2023 season came to an end over the weekend with the Adults’ Awards Night on Friday (15th) at the clubhouse, followed on the Sunday by the T20 final at Wormsley and victory in a friendly versus Northfields.

Emily Green kicked things off as she stood in for Captain Sarah Sanderson to read out a summary of the Women‘s first season in the Home Counties Premier Division. Having been promoted last year, the team again had an excellent season at a higher standard than they’ve faced before, maintaining Premier Division status and finishing 5th! This came after a Super 8s campaign that saw Thame narrowly miss out on finals day qualification after coming 3rd, 3 points off first. Harshani Malan was star of the show as she retained the Batting Award and the Bowling Award. Emily Green received the Most Improved Player Award, for her performances as a top-order batter. There was a big thank you to coach Farid Butt, who has helped the Women’s team immensely!

Captain Ed Mather went next for the 4th XI. After relegation last year, the 4s set about getting straight back up by winning 6 of the first 7 completed matches. A stuttered second half of the season featuring abandonments, opposition forfeits and defeats to promotion rivals put pay to those hopes as Thame finished a respectable 3rd. The batting and bowling honours were retained once again by Charlie Anderson and Trevor Spindler, respectively. It was a memorable season for the pair, in which Spindler took his 1000th Cherwell League wicket, and Anderson scored 1047 runs at an average of 55.1 across the 4s, Saxons and County matches!

Chairman and 3rd XI Captain, Pete Tervet, gave us the story of ‘The Great Escape’. As is now legend around the club; the 3s spent most of the season in the relegation zone, before mustering a miraculous winning run at the back end and getting to safety on the final day, in what is one of the tightest divisions you will ever see! There was special mentions for Harshi Malan, Leanne Harris and Zara Wyatt, who originally came onboard from the Women’s team and were pivotal in the effort. Chris ‘Winkle’ Penny won the Bowling Award with 24 wickets, as he did in 2022, while the Batting Award went to Richard Carr with 227 runs.

The 2nd XI were represented by skippers Robbie Jackson and George Patey, who delivered their summary with typical good humour. The first part of the season was up and down, but following a run of positive results, the 2s later gave themselves an outside chance of promotion, before falling away in the last 2 matches. The team used over 40 players, some of whom were new to the club and have made an excellent impression. Skipper Jackson retained the Bowling Award with 15 wickets, while Josh Towell won the Batting Award, massing 218 runs despite being called up to the 1st XI on occasions!

Captain Hassam Mushtaq took to the stage to talk about the 1st XI campaign. With several more new faces and the continued rise of youngsters within the club, Thame had a new look 1st XI. Dinny Malan returned as the overseas pro and again performed fantastically with bat and ball. Thame finished 5th in a tight mid-table and will be looking to push for promotion next year. The team also reached the final of the Wilf Bennett T20 Cup, led by Luke Hayes and Jonathon Jelfs, but sadly fell at the last hurdle. The Batting Award went to newcomer Ubaid Kiani who scored 500 runs in the Home Counties Division 2, while Captain Mushtaq took the Bowling Award for his 34 wickets – the 2nd highest in the whole of the division.

Ian McStay presented the John Fulkes Award, given to a younger player who has made their way up the ranks and performed at senior level. John Fulkes was a Chairman of the club and huge supporter of cricket, particularly youth cricket, in the town. After his passing 20 years ago, Thame Town Cricket Club created this award in his honour. In 2023, the award went to Josh Towell! In recent years, Josh has progressed through youth cricket and up from the 4th XI all the way through to several appearances for the 1st XI, while also winning the 2nd XI Batting Award this year!

The Club Champion award went to Tom Marianczak, for his leadership in the growth of All Stars and Dynamos Cricket on Friday nights at the club. Tom has helped get over 40 parents involved in the coaching, for over 120 kids and in doing so making Friday at the club a very prosperous one both on and off the field!

A massive thank you to Sheena Beard, Sally Patey and Jackie Phippen for running the catering, and to Justin Avery for the excellent bbq. Thank you also to Angus Lachlan for running the bar (and to Winkle for taking the reigns in time of need!).

Here’s to 2024!

Women’s Batting AwardHarshani Malan

Women’s Bowling AwardHarshani Malan

Women’s Most Improved PlayerEmily Green

1st XI Batting AwardUbaid Kiani

1st XI Bowling AwardHassam Mushtaq

2nd XI Batting Award – Josh Towell

2nd XI Bowling AwardRobbie Jackson

3rd XI Batting AwardRichard Carr

3rd XI Bowling Award Chris ‘Winkle’ Penny

4th XI Batting AwardCharlie Anderson

4th XI Bowling AwardTrevor Spindler

Club ChampionTom Marianczak

John Fulkes AwardJosh Towell

Captain Ed Mather presenting the 4th XI Batting Award to Charlie Anderson

Mather presenting the 4th XI Bowling Award to Trevor Spindler

Captain and Chairman Pete Tervet presenting the 3rd XI Bowling Award to Chris Penny

Captains Robbie Jackson and George Patey presenting the 2nd XI Batting Award to Josh Towell

George Patey presenting the 2nd XI Bowling Award to Robbie Jackson

Captain Hassam Mushtaq presenting the 1st XI Batting Award to Ubaid Kiani

Chairman Pete Tervet presenting the 1st XI Bowling Award to Hassam Mushtaq

Ian McStay presenting the John Fulkes Award to Josh Towell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *