Adult Awards 2022

The 2022 season drew to a close with the Adults Awards Night, on Friday 30th September at the clubhouse.

The night kicked off with the triumphant Women’s team. Emily Green stood in on the night for Captain Sarah Sanderson, to read out the Captain’s season summary and announce the award winners. The Women’s team had an incredible season, winning the Home Counties Women’s Cricket League Division 2 South and then topping it by winning the subsequent promotion play-off! Congratulations to Harshani Malan on winning the batting award and the bowling award in her first season. Harshi has returned to Sri Lanka with husband Dinny, so wasn’t on hand to collect her award, but we look forward to hopefully welcoming her back next year. COVID meant that sadly not many of the team were able to make the night, but the team will look to celebrate a memorable season in their own way in the coming weeks!

The 4th XI were next, led by Captain Ed Mather. It was a tough season for a depleted 4th XI, with a handful of wins and hard fought draws the highlights. Next years Division status remains up in the air, after a 3rd from bottom finish, which could result in relegation depending on the knock on effects of new teams and reshuffles within the league. The batting and bowling honours were retained by Charlie Anderson and Trevor Spindler, respectively. We wish Trev well as he heads down under for the over 70s Ashes this winter!

3rd XI Captain, Chris Penny, talked us through a difficult campaign with typical good humour. After promotion in 2021, the team lost a large proportion of the team that got them there and could not manage a win this year. There were special mentions for Toby Borgnis and Daniel Fuller, who graduated from the youth system this year and more than held their own in a strong league. Chris Penny took home the bowling award, while the batting award went to the ever-present Paddy Harris.

Robbie Jackson and George Patey took the stage for the 2nd XI, also delivering a few laughs after a hard season which saw selection issues aplenty and eventually an unsuccessful fight against relegation. There were positives, with a mammoth successful chase away to Great Brickhill and the continued progression of more young talent in Josh Towell and Alex Tervet. The bowling award was won by Jackson himself, while Richard Carr added the 2022 batting award to his collection.

The 1st XI were led by a new Skipper this year in Hassam Mushtaq, who gave us the lowdown on the rebuild after relegation in 2021 and the loss of several prominent players. Successful recruitment and the impressive rise of Luke Hayes to the 1st XI built a small but strong squad. In a tight division, and despite good performances, relegation was a possibility all the way until near the seasons end, before important wins propelled the team to mid-table. The batting award went to big-hitting Alex Browne, one of the successful new recruits, while Captain Mushtaq took the bowling award.

Steve Beard presented the John Fulkes award, given to a younger player who has made an impact in a senior team. This year, the award went to Jonathon Jelfs, who took 13 wickets for the 1st XI in the Home Counties Premier League Division 2.

The Club Champion award went to Tim Dabbs, for his continued excellent work in organising the 4th XI, supporting the other captains with selection in a difficult season and umpiring Women’s matches – to mention a few of the many things he does! Unfortunately, Tim has also recently suffered with COVID, so wasn’t there to collect his award, but it is much deserved and will be delivered in due course!

A massive thank you to Sally Patey and Sheena Beard for their work on the food on the night, and to Jackie Phippen for acquiring it. Thank you also to Angus Lachlan for running the bar.

Here’s to 2023!

Women’s Batting AwardHarshani Malan

Women’s Bowling AwardHarshani Malan

Women’s Most Improved PlayerCatherine Hawkes

Men’s 1st XI Batting AwardAlex Browne

Men’s 1st XI Bowling AwardHassam Mushtaq

Men’s 2nd XI Batting AwardRichard Carr

Men’s 2nd XI Bowling AwardRobbie Jackson

Men’s 3rd XI Batting AwardPaddy Harris

Men’s 3rd XI Bowling Award Chris ‘Winkle’ Penny

Men’s 4th XI Batting AwardCharlie Anderson

Men’s 4th XI Bowling AwardTrevor Spindler

Club ChampionTim Dabbs

John Fulkes AwardJonathon Jelfs

Hassam Mushtaq receiving the 1st XI Bowling Award from Chairman Pete Tervet

Robbie Jackson receiving the 2nd XI Bowling Award from co-Captain George Patey

Paddy Harris receiving the 3rd XI Batting Award from 3rd XI Captain Chris Penny

Chris Penny receiving the 3rd XI Bowling Award from Chairman Pete Tervet

Trevor Spindler receiving the 4th XI Bowling Award from 4th XI Captain Ed Mather

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *