Women’s Archive

2019

Following their first competitive season last year in the Thames Valley Development League, the women’s team stepped up in 2019 with the challenge of the newly formed Home Counties Women’s Cricket League. On top of this, various prestigious friendlies were arranged against the likes of the Oman Women’s National team and the RAF. Also, before summer even arrived, the Women’s Team had won the Oxfordshire Indoor League Division 2!

Bridget Cooper continued the Women’s Captaincy, before stepping down at the end of the season. Megs Woodward won the bowling award, Sarah Sanderson won the batting award and Katherine Medhurst won the Most Improved Player award.

Read more about the history of women’s cricket in Thame here.

Friendlies

Date Opposition Venue Thame Score Opposition Score W/D/L Report
Sun 19th May Reading University Thame 73-5 140-2 L Report
Sun 26th May Oman National Team Thame 60-8 182-3 L Report
Sun 2nd June Eynsham Thame 131-3 ? W Report
Sun 21st July RAF Thame 166-7 167-7 L Report
Sun 4th Aug Chesham Thame 141 169-8 L Report
Sun 18th Aug Maidenhead Maidenhead 83-5 121-4 L Report
Mon 26th Aug Barbarians Thame ? 196-8 W Report

League

Date Opposition Venue Thame Score Opposition Score W/D/L Report
Sun 16th June Oxford 2 Oxford 103 118-7 L Report
Sun 23rd June Cookham Dean Cookham 132 118-8 W Report
Sun 11th Aug Henley Henley Aband.
Sun 18th Aug Charlbury 2 Charlbury FOREFITED W
Charlbury 2 Thame FORFEITED W
Sun 8th Sept Oxford 2 Thame 143-8 214-6 L Report
Sun 15th Sept Cookham Dean Thame 153-5 154-3 L Report
Sat 21st Sept Henley Thame 188-6 198-6 L Report

Tournaments

Date Competition Venue
Sun 5th May Super 8s Thame
Sun 12th May Super 8s Oxford
Mon 27th May Super 8s Deddington

2018

Following several years of great progression, in 2018 the Women’s team enjoyed their first competitive hard-ball season in the Thames Valley Development League. With the added friendly fixtures and tournaments, it was a season to remember for Women’s Cricket in Thame, culminating in an invite to the newly formed Home Counties Women’s Cricket League for 2019.

Bridget Cooper was the first-ever Women’s Captain. Beth John won the batting award, Sarah Sanderson won the bowling award and Claire Morris won the most improved player award.

Friendlies

Date Opposition Venue Thame Score Opposition Score W/D/L Report
Sun 6th May Chesham Thame 139  140-7 L Report
Sun 20th May Cookham Dean Thame 176 161-7 W Report
Sun 3rd June Chesham Thame 146 162 L Report
Sun 10th June Maidenhead & Bray Thame Mixed practice with Men’s 4th team & Finchley Gunners
Sun 1st July Maidenhead & Bray Thame 225 163 W Report
Sat 17th July North Marston Men Tetsworth 91 263 L Report
Sat 28th July Mistley Tetsworth 163 203 L Report
Sun 5th Aug Wingrave Wingrave Mixed match with Men’s 4th team
Sun 2nd Sept Chesham Thame 174-3 173-7 W Report

League

Date Opposition Venue Thame Score Opposition Score W/D/L Report
Sun 8th July Cookham Dean Cookham Dean 148-? 147-7 W Report
Sun 22nd July Cookham Dean Thame 98-1 95 W Report
Sun 19th Aug Henley Henley 126-7 233-5 L Report
Mon 27th Aug Henley Thame 181-9 219-5 L Report
Sun 9th Sept Maidenhead & Bray Maidenhead 106-8 133-6 L